It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

No, I am not talking about Christmas, although I know the title of this blog post may imply that.  I am talking about baseball season.  For me, the most wonderful time of the year starts when baseball starts.  I’m really excited to see what the Sox are going to do this season.  While it will be bittersweet, as David Ortiz is calling it a career, it will still be exciting.  The addition of David Price in the off season was huge, I feel like his addition will give the team a much needed pitching boost.  The past few seasons, I feel like the pitching wasn’t up to the standards the Sox and fans are used to seeing.  Expectations are obviously high.  I was able to watch a few Spring Training games, and I was impressed with what I saw from some of the players, while others had lack luster performances.  I am not surprised that Pablo Sandoval is starting on the bench and Travis Shaw is starting.

From what I was able to see, Sandoval needs to improve his conditioning and lose weight.  Last season, he didn’t produce, and him starting on the bench is what is best for the team.  I feel like moving Hanley Ramirez back to the infield was not only better for Han Ram, but for the team as well.  The experiment playing him in the outfield didn’t work out too well for anyone.  I was really impressed that Hanley took losing weight seriously, I feel like it shows that he’s taking his job seriously, and committed to helping the team win.  I’m really hoping that the Sox can turn things around this season, I have faith.

2 thoughts on “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Leave a Reply

